Cracker Island

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Title: Cracker Island
Artist: Gorillaz
Genre: Alternative Rock
Released: 2023

1 - Cracker Island - 3:33 -
2 - Oil - 3:50
3 - The Tired Influencer - 3:31
4 - Tarantula - 3:31
5 - Silent Running - 4:26
6 - New Gold - 3:35 -
7 - Baby Queen - 3:40
8 - Tormenta - 3:13
9 - Skinny Ape - 4:41
10 - Possession Island - 3:26

Cracker Island is the eighth studio album by the British virtual band Gorillaz. The album was released on 24 February 2023 via Parlophone and Warner Records. It features collaborations with Stevie Nicks, Adeleye Omotayo, Thundercat, Tame Impala, Bad Bunny, Bootie Brown, and Beck. The album received generally positive reviews.

The majority of the work on the album began in 2021. "Tormenta", a song made in collaboration with Bad Bunny, was the first completed track for the album. It was originally intended to be the lead single for the second season of the web series Song Machine, before the project was shelved in favor of a traditional studio album (as was "New Gold", which would become the album's second single). According to Damon Albarn, permanent collaborator for Gorillaz, the new album was already completed in May of 2022. American record producer, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Greg Kurstin served as the main producer for the record, alongside British music producer Remi Kabaka Jr.

Gorillaz released the first single "Cracker Island" (featuring bassist Thundercat) on 22 June 2022. Along with the release of the single, Gorillaz announced that the band would be following up the Meanwhile EP with a full new album. The name was announced as Cracker Island, with its release date, artwork and tracklist being revealed on 31 August, alongside the release of the second single, "New Gold", (featuring Tame Impala and Bootie Brown). The third single, "Baby Queen", was released on the FIFA 23 soundtrack on 30 September, after being leaked earlier that month. It was later officially released as a single on 4 November. The fourth single, "Skinny Ape", was released on 8 December, alongside the announcement of two virtual shows in Times Square and Piccadilly Circus on 17 and 18 December, respectively. The fifth single, "Silent Running" (featuring Adeleye Omotayo) was released on 27 January 2023, with a music video released on 8 February.
Music information in first post provided by The AudioDB